Organization of the Fono

The Fono is administered entirely by the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House.
The Senate: The Senate is presided over by a president who is elected by the senators from among themselves. The senators also elect a president pro tempore who takes over the responsibilities of the president in the president’s absence. Each serves one legislative term and is eligible for re-election.

Continue reading Organization of the Fono

Territorial Legislature of American Samoa

This article will provide the reader with basic information about the Territorial Legislature of American Samoa. To fully appreciate the status of the Legislature at present, an understanding of American Samoa’s “political marriage” to the United States of America is necessary.

American Samoa became a territory of the United States in 1900.

Continue reading Territorial Legislature of American Samoa